

Chicago State University, Williams Science Center, Room 101A 9501 S. King Drive, Chicago, IL 60628 (773) 995-3296 FAX (773) 995-2966

FACT SHEET

The Illinois Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (Illinois LS-AMP) formally known as Chicago Alliance for Minority Participation (ChAMP) was established in 1993 through a five-year cooperative agreement between National Science Foundation and Chicago State University.

Illinois LS-AMP is part of a nation-wide federally funded consortium of colleges and universities. The goal of the program is to significantly increase the number of undergraduate and graduate degrees awarded to under-represented minority students in science, mathematics, engineering, technology, and science education (SMETE) by the year 2000.

Illinois LS-AMP represents the effort put forth by colleges and universities in the State of Illinois. It consists of eight (8) universities, nine (9) regional community colleges, and several research organizations. These institutions collaboratively provide programs that improve the quality of SMETE education for minority students. Each of these organizations has committed resources, including faculty and staff, research facilities, and technical assistance to ensure that high quality programs are available.

Illinois LS-AMP provides activities that are comprehensive, multidisciplinary, and focused on enhancing the scholarship of minority students. Considerable effort is expended to address transition points in a student's academic career. The transition points include high school to college, 2-year college to 4-year college, undergraduate study to graduate study, and academic study to careers in SMETE.

Illinois LS-AMP activities include: hands-on research apprenticeships, scholarship programs, science conferences, facilitated study groups, faculty mentoring, professional development, peer mentoring, summer bridge programs, and internships.

Illinois LS-AMP University Partners include: Chicago State University, DePaul University, Governors State University, the Illinois Institute of Technology, Illinois State University, Northeastern Illinois University, Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, and the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Illinois LS-AMP Community College Partners include: Harold Washington College, Harry S Truman College, Kennedy-King College, Malcolm X College, Olive-Harvey College, Richard J. Daley College, South Suburban Community College, St. Augustine College, and Wilbur Wright College.

For more information, contact Dr. LeRoy Jones, II, Director or Dr. Marian Wilson-Comer at the Illinois Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation, Chicago State University, 9501 S. King Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60628 (773) 995-3296.

NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION