# PROGRAM COORDINATORS University Partners

Chicago State University Dr. Rachel Lindsey, Dean College of Arts and Sciences (773) 995-2105

DePaul University

Dr. Carolyn Narasimhan, Associate Dean
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
(773) 325-7000, Ext. 1854

Governors State University Dr. Edwin Cehelnik, Chair Science Department (708) 534-4522

Illinois Institute of Technology

Dr. Peter Johnson, Professor

Department of Chemistry

(312) 567-3440

Loyola University of Chicago **Dr. David Slavsky**, Dean Natural Sciences and Mathematics (312) 508-3512

Northeastern Illinois University Dr. John Boni, Dean College of Arts and Sciences (773) 794-2588

Northwestern University

Dr.Stephen Carr, Associate Dean
School of Engineering and Applied Science
(847) 491-7379

University of Illinois at Chicago
Dr. John Baldwin, Professor
Department of Mathematics
(773) 413-2149

Western Illinois University

Dr. Nicholas Pano, Associate Dean
College of Arts and Sciences
(309) 298-1828

# PROGRAM COORDINATORS Community College Partners

Richard J. Daley College

Mr. Ron Hearns, Director/Career Planning,
Placement & Transfer Services
(773) 838-7590

Olive-Harvey College Mr. Gide Colinet, Chair/Chemistry Department (773) 291-6540

Harold Washington College

Dr. Ghingo Brooks, VP/Academic Affairs & Student

Development

(773) 553-5920

Wilbur Wright College

Dr. Benito Kalaw, Instructor/Physical Sciences
(773) 481-8380

Kennedy-King College
Mr. Joe Kyle, Instructor/Biological Sciences
(773) 502-6210

Malcolm X College

Dr. Tom Anderson, Dean/Instructional Services
(312) 850-7302

South Suburban Community College
Dr. Diane Ostojic, Associate Dean of Liberal Arts &
Sciences
(708) 210-5716

St. Augustine College

Dr. Bruno Bondavalli, Dean/Academic Affairs
(773) 878-8556

Harry S. Truman College

Mr. Gregory Robinson, Counselor/Instructor
(773) 785-0610

# **Advisory Board**

Dr. Margaret Tolbert
Director, DEP, Argonne National Laboratory

Ms. Avis LaVelle
Vice President, Communications & Community
Relations
Waste Management, Inc.

Dr. Dorothy Strong Regional Coordinator, USI Chicago Public Schools

Ms. Bonnie Wood
Executive Director, East West Corporate Corridor



# Chicago Alliance for Minority Participation

in
Science
Mathematics
Engineering
and
Technology

Funding for Chicago AMP is provided by the National Science Foundation

### CHICAGO AMP PROGRAM

The Alliance for Minority Participation (AMP) program was established in 1993 through a five-year cooperative agreement and is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

The Chicago AMP is part of a nation-wide consortium of colleges and universities located in the United States and Puerto Rico. The specific goal of the program is to quadruple the number of undergraduate and graduate degrees awarded to underrepresented minorities in science, mathematics, engineering and technology (SMET) by the year 2000.

The Chicago AMP represents the Illinois branch of the National AMP program; it consists of nine (9) Chicago universities, nine (9) regional community colleges and several research organizations. Together, these groups participate in a collaborative effort to provide programs that improve the quality of science, mathematics, engineering and technology education for minority students. Each of these organizations has made a commitment of faculty, staff, research facilities and technical assistance to ensure successful opportunities for students participating in the ChAMP program.

Chicago AMP activities are comprehensive and multidisciplinary, focused specifically on SMET education. Great effort is expended to address transition points in student's undergraduate experience, specifically for students who are more likely, without intervention, to decide to withdraw from the SMET pipeline. Consequently, critical transition points along the SMET education pipeline: high school-to-college, 2-year to 4-year college, undergraduate-to-graduate study, and graduate study to careers are addressed in various and innovative ways.

### These efforts include:

- Hands-on Research Opportunities
- Scholarship Programs
- Science Conferences
- Facilitated Study Group Sessions
- Professional Development
- Peer Mentoring Activities
- Summer Bridge Programs
- Tutoring Programs
- Internships
- Graduate Activities

# **Eligibility Requirements**

Any undergraduate minority student majoring in science, mathematics, engineering or technology (SMET) disciplines who are enrolled at any of our alliance institutions are eligible to participate in the ChAMP program. The following minority groups are eligible for AMP awards: African American, Hispanic and Native American. High school to college bridge students may also receive AMP awards for the summer.

While students who are enrolled in SMET disciplines are encouraged to participate in AMP activities, only those students who meet NSF's definition of membership in an underrepresented group are eligible for Chicago AMP awards. Students majoring in SMET fields who would like to pursue professional degrees in medicine and health related fields, while not funded, are encouraged to participate in various workshops and retention programs.

Chicago AMP financial award decisions are made by the individual member universities and community colleges. Please apply for support through the Program Coordinators.

University members include: Chicago State University, DePaul University, Governors State University, Illinois Institute of Technology, Loyola University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northwestern University, University of Illinois at Chicago, and Western Illinois University

### Community College members include:

Harold Washington College, Harry S. Truman College, Kennedy-King College, Malcolm X College, Olive-Harvey College, Richard J. Daley College, South Suburban Community College, St. Augustine College, and Wilbur Wright College

This diverse group of community colleges and universities allow students to take advantage of Chicago AMP in learning environments that best suit each student's needs.

## CHICAGO AMP EXECUTIVE OFFICE

Project Director

Dr. Dolores E. Cross, President
Chicago State University

Chicago AMP Executive Director

Dr. Marian Wilson-Comer

CHICAGO AMP OFFICE Chicago State University 9501 S. King Drive Chicago, IL 60628-1598 Phone (773) 995-3296, Fax (773) 995-2966

### **GOVERNING BOARD**

Dr. Dolores E. Cross, Chair President, Chicago State University

Rev. John P. Minogue, C.M. President, DePaul University

**Dr. Paula Wolff**President, Governors State University

Dr. Lewis Collens
President, Illinois Institute of Technology

Rev. John J. Piderit, S.J. President, Loyola University

**Dr. Salme Steinberg**President, Northeastern Illinois University

**Dr. Henry Bienen**President, Northwestern University

Dr. David Broski
Chancellor, University of Illinois at Chicago

Dr. Ted Martinez, Jr.
President, Richard J. Daley College

Dr. Lawrence M. Cox President, Olive-Harvey College

Ms. Nancy C. DeSombre
President, Harold Washington College

Dr. Ray LeFevour President, Wilbur Wright College

Dr. Wayne D. Watson
President, Kennedy-King College

Dr. Zerrie D. Campbell
President, Malcolm X College

**Dr, Bruce Aldrich**President, South Suburban Community College

Dr. Carlos Plazas
President, St. Augustine College

Dr. Phoebe K. Helm President, Harry S. Truman College