The



Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation

# 2011 ANNUAL SPRING **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING**

and

## SCHOLARS/BRIDGE TO THE **DOCTORATE FELLOWS** CONFERENCE NOIL VOL

Hosted by: **Alabama State University** 

ENCE

April 10-11, 2011

**Renaissance Hotel & Spa** 

Montgomery, Alabama

#### EXECUTIVE MEETING Sunday, April 10, 2011

#### AGENDA

11:30 - 12:00 NOON	SITE COORDINATOR REGISTRATION	Foyer ALABAMA-CDE
12:00 - 2:00 p.m.	OPENING SESSION	ALABAMA-C
	Welcome Lunch Business LSAMP Phase IV Phase-Out	Dr. Louis Dale westigator, The University of Alabama at Birmingham Dr. Carl Pettis Site Coordinator, Alabama State University ALABAMA-C Dr. Dale LSAMP Phase V Phase-In
	Community College Partnerships Bridge to the Doctorate	Summer Bridge Program (BD) Program
2:00 - 2:10 p.m.	Break	
2:10 - 4:15 p.m.	SESSION II	ALABAMA-C
	LEDDA	Dr. Carolyn Braswell vestigator, The University of Alabama at Birmingham Site Coordinators
	Alabama A&M University Auburn University	Alabama State University Miles College
	Oakwood University Talladega College	Stillman College Tuskegee University
	The University of Alabama	The University of Alabama in Huntsville
	The University of South Alabama	The University of Alabama at Birmingham
		Dr. Dale & Mr. Jeff Little ccountant, The University of Alabama at Birmingham
	ALSAMP Accounts Individual Budget Reviews	ALSAMP Data (Annual Report)
4:15 p.m.	ADJOURNMENT	
*********	*******	*****

#### SCHOLARS AND FELLOWS CONFERENCE Sunday, April 10, 2011

#### AGENDA

5:30 - 6:00 p.m.	REGISTRATION	Foyer ALABAMA-CDE			
6:00 - 7:15 p.m.	SESSION I	ALABAMA-CDE			
	Presiding	Dr. Carl Pettis			
GreetingsDr. Alfred Smith Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Alabama State University					
	Remarks	Dr. Louis Dale			
	Dinner	ALABAMA-CDE			
	Closing Comments	Dr. Carolyn Braswell			
	Adjournment				
7:30 - 8:45 p.m.	SESSION II	ALABAMA-AB			
	Registration of Research Poster				
	Poster Set-Up - Scholars and Fell	ows			
	Poster Exhibit Closed				
*******	*******************************	***********			
Monday, April 11, 2011					
AGENDA					
7:45 - 8:15 a.m.	SIGN-IN/MORNING REFRESH	MENTS ALABAMA-CDE			
8:15 a.m.	Poster Exhibit Area Opens				
8:30 - 10:30 a.m.	SESSION II	ALABAMA-AB			
	Poster Presentation Judging Students are to go to Room Montgom posters.	ery 7 on the 2 <sup>nd</sup> floor after two judges have reviewed their			
10:30 a.m.	Judging Closes				
	Break	AGENDA CONTINUED ON BACK PAGE			

#### Monday, April 11, 2011

#### AGENDA CONTINUED

10:45 - 11:45 a.m.	SESSION III	MONTGOMERY 7		
	Presiding General Assembly	Dr. Kenneth LaiHing Site Coordinator, Oakwood University		
	<ol> <li>Focus Groups of Scholars and Fellows by</li> <li>1. Biological Sciences - includes Food S Pathology and Epidemiology (Drs. Ja</li> <li>2. Chemistry (Drs. LaiHing and Alexanda</li> <li>3. Physical Sciences - includes Mathem Computer Science (Drs. Overtoun Jer</li> <li>4. Engineering (Drs. Viola Acoff and Mathem</li> </ol>	Science, Science Education,RIVERVIEW-1acqueline Johnson and James Langie)ra Stenson)RIVERVIEW-2natics, Physics andRIVERVIEW-3nda and Emanuel Waddell)		
11:50 - 12:15 a.m.	<b>GROUP PHOTOS</b>	LOCATION TO BE ANNOUNCED		
12:15 - 1:30 p.m.	SESSION IV	ALABAMA-CDE		
	Presiding	Dr. Dale		
		Dr. Cajetan Akujuobi matics and Technology, Alabama State University		
	Lunch	ALABAMA-CDE		
	Presentation of Awards	Dr. Braswell/Site Coordinators		
Certificates of Participation				
	Undergraduate and Graduate Re Biological Sciences Physical Sciences Computer Sciences Mathematics Engineering Food Sciences	esearch Awards:		
	Closing Remarks	Dr. Dale		
	Adjournment			
	SIGN-OUT			
	POSTER REMOVAL			

In order to receive credit for attending and/or reimbursement for the ALSAMP grant you must sign-out prior to departing the conference.

### 2011 ALSAMP Spring Research Conference Poster Competition Winners

#### Bridge to the Doctorate Division

Μ

<b>Biological Sciences</b>		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Cordero Core	UAB
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Dennis Steverson	UAB
3rd place	Erica Thompson	UA
Francisco		
Engineering	Glenn Terrell	UAB
1 <sup>st</sup> place		Tuskegee
2 <sup>nd</sup> place 3 <sup>rd</sup> place	Sandrea Brundidge-Young	UA
3 <sup>rd</sup> place	Julio Proano	UA
Mathematics		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Kendrick White	UAB
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Sharniece Holland	UA
3rd place	Jalonda Coats	UA
Physical Science		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Desmond Villalba	UAB
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Marcus Johnson	UA
	ALSAMP Schola	ars Division
	ALSAIM SCHOOL	
<b>Biological Sciences</b>		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Courtney Cole	Stillman
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Jorja Wright	UAH
3rd place	Christopher Murphy	Miles
Engineering		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Lawrence O'Neal	Oakwood
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Arthur Duncan	Auburn
3rd place	Jordan Davis	UAH
Mathematics		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Deonnia N. Pompey	UAB
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Joshua Bentley	UAH
3rd place	Roenika Wiggins	Tuskegee
Physical Science		
1 <sup>st</sup> place	Thomas Adams	UAH
2 <sup>nd</sup> place	Roderick Gray	Alabama A &
3 <sup>rd</sup> place	Jesse Kelley	USA
- 1		

#### Computer Science 1<sup>st</sup> place

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place 3<sup>rd</sup> place Joshua Hale William Phelps III Michelle Adams

#### Food Sciences

1<sup>st</sup> place 2<sup>nd</sup> place Ebony Major Brian Woods Auburn Alabama State Miles

Alabama A & M Alabama A & M