Presidents of Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation Institutions

March 14, 2012

Dear Fellow Americans:

We the undersigned university presidents are proud to report to you that, with the help of the National Science Foundation's (NSF's) Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Program (LSAMP), our universities came together in a nation-wide effort that has been successful in helping to build a stronger and more vital national science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) workforce for now and the future. The LSAMP program is a nation-wide alliance of 644 universities, colleges, community colleges, corporations, foundations, educational associations, government laboratories, museums and field stations.

By means of these alliances, the NSF LSAMP Program promotes prosperity through the creation of opportunities for growing segments of our national population that have historically been less than fully engaged in the national engine of economic growth, namely the STEM fields. In the 21st century, technological prowess and the full engagement of ALL of our citizenry in working toward the goal of out-innovating, out-educating, and out-building the rest of the world is without doubt the tried, true and surest way to continue the legacy of national prosperity in the United States.

In 2003 the Supreme Court declared that, "We have repeatedly acknowledged the overriding importance of preparing students for work and citizenship, describing education as pivotal to 'sustaining our political and cultural heritage' with a fundamental role in maintaining the fabric of society...." For our institutions and the NSF LSAMP alliances led by them, this declaration has been molded into action.

Attached is a compilation of the tremendously successful impact that the National Science Foundation's LSAMP Program has had across the USA. We invite you to review it and judge for yourselves what has transpired thus far and hopefully use it to help plan for what we can all do together to further expand this model ultimately to reach every institution and student in this great nation.

Sincerely,

Carue & Garrism Carol Z. Garrison

President, University of Alabama at Birmingham

nu

Lawrence A. Davis, Jr Chancellor, The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Alexander Gonzalez President, California State University, Sacramento

ames of. more

James H. Ammons President, Florida A&M University

Carlton E. Brown President, Clark Atlanta University

Wayne D. Watson President, Chicago State University

Rona

Donald <u>Straney</u> President, University of Hawaii at Hilo

mes James Llorens

Chancellor, Southern University and A&M College

astera

Carolyn Meyers President, Jackson State University

Lisa S. Coico President, City College of New York

Spis OLL Luna Ross

President, Salish Kootenai College

Michael V. Drake Chancellor, The University of California, Irvine

Anthony A. Frank President, Colorado State University

Philip Yeagle Interim Chancellor, Rutgers-University Newark

John M. Rudley / President, Texas Southern University

France A. <u>Córdova</u> President, Purdue University

Eli Capilouto // President, University of Kentucky

Mary Sue Coleman President, University of Michigan

62

Barbara Couture President, New Mexico State University

Harold L. Martin, Sr Chancellor, North Carolina A&T State University

Eric Kaler

President, The University of Minnesota, Twin Cities

ren **Burns Hargis**

President, Oklahoma State University

Michael Young President, University of Washington

John A. Fry President, Drexel University

George E. Coper V President, South Carolina State University

hilds

Portia Holmes Shields President, Tennessee State University

lana

Diana Natalicio President, The University of Texas at El Paso

Nancy Cantor Chancellor, Syracuse University

eren A. Inllion

Teresa A. Sullivan President, The University of Virginia

Michael Crew

Michael M. Crow President, Arizona State University

Robert C. Holub Chancellor, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

our Lan

Tom Case Chancellor, The University of Alaska Anchorage

Michael F. Adams President, The University of Georgia

ul O. min

Miguel A. Muñoz President, University of Puerto Rico

Samuel L. Stanley Jr) President, Stony Brook University

R. Bowen Loftin

President, Texas A&M University

Ereeman A. Hrabowski, III / President, The University of Maryland, Baltimore County

J. Keith Motley Chancellor, The University of Massachusetts, Boston

PAIL Sidney A. Ribeau

President, Howard University

twee

David Ward Interim Chancellor, The University of Wisconsin-Madison